November 20,2008

A meeting of the Lt. Nathan Gann Chapter, S.A.R., was held at 7 PM Thursday November 20, 2008 at the Golden Corral Restaurant in Lufkin.  Members and guests started arriving after 6 PM to enjoy a Dutch Treat dinner before the meeting

President Fred Preston called the meeting to order.  Woody Gann gave the invocation with a special mention of Compatriot Edsel Shelton.  Neal Naranjo then led the assemblage in the pledges to the American Flag and the SAR Flag.

Preston then recognized the guests.  Members present were Jeff Corbett, David Adams, Burl Ivy, Neal Murphy, Richard Murphy, Vance Roberts, Joe Allport, Woody Gann, Tom Gann, Allen Gann, Mike Everheart, Neal Naranjo and Fred Preston.  Guests were Jake, Laura, Haley and Christie Squires, Charlie, Ruth and Jarrad Grumbles, June Everheart, Pamela Gann, Barbara Barge, Vicki Gann, Sue Roberts, Betty Preston, Harry Taylor II, Duane and Joann Hedberg.  Special Guests were Charles Luna, past president of the Athens Chapter and currently Chairman of the Presidents Council; Ernest Holland, 2 VP and Chapter Historian of the Athens Chapter and Tommy Slay, President of the Fredonia Chapter in Nacogdoches. There were 13 members and 19 guests, 3 of the guests were also SAR members.

There were no corrections to the minutes so they stand approved.

Jeff Corbett gave a treasurers report which showed $5287.67 in the CD account and $1815.78 in the checking account.  $39 was turned in at the meeting for late registration ($19) and dual membership (Joe Allport and Mike Everheart).  Also I submitted invoice for $230.13 of which $141.35 was for dinners and $88.78 for medals and Certificates.

Under Old Business, Preston said he had St. Cyprians and Pineywoods Academy lined up to compete this year. Deadline is January 14th.  Need Eagle Scouts, get the word out.  Mike Everheart had a prepared grant application for Wal-Mart which he gave me.

On Nov. 8, Harold Newsom, Neal Naranjo and myself marched in the Veterans Day Parade and the same evening Neal and I participated in Honor America Night at Abe Martin Stadium.  

Neal has the larger Declaration of Independence documents (23" x 19") on order and also some of the more common sizes of flags.  

New Business: At this time we welcomed our newest members, Allen Gann, Burl Ivy and Joe Allport.  Each was presented his certificate and a rosette.  We then welcomed Neal and Richard Murphy, brothers from San Augustine who transferred from the Pineywoods Chapter.

L to R: Mike Everheart, Neal Naranjo, Joe Allport, Burl Ivy, Allen Gann and Fred Preston

L to R: Neal Naranjo, Richard Murphy, Neal Murphy and Fred Preston.

Talked about the Christmas parade on Dec 2nd.  Jeff Corbett and Mike Everheart volunteered to participate. Will have a Flag Retirement Ceremony sometime in Jan. or Feb.

At this time Charles Luna talked about the TXSSAR Annual meeting to be held in Nacodoches on March 19-22. (  Info presented will soon be put on the web page.

Charles Luna, past president Athens Chapter and current Chairman Presidents Council

David Adams was then called forward.  David was presented with a 25 year service pin.  David served as president of the chapter 1986 - 1988 and again 1995 - 1996 and he was active in CAR.

David Adams receiving his 25 year service pin.

We then called Charlie Grumbles to come forward.  Neal introduced Charlie and then presented the Fire Safety Medal and Certificate.  Charlie served for more than 25 years with the Lufkin Fire Department.

Charlie Grumbles receiving his Fire Saftey Medal and Certificate.

Then Neal introduced the speaker for the evening.  Duane Hedberg a history teacher at Pineywoods Academy.  Duane talked about the importance of teaching our history and methods he uses to do this.

The program for January 15, 2009 will be a history teacher from Angelina College.  More later.

Preston led the assemblage in the closing admonition and the meeting was adjourned at about 8:15 PM.

Respectfully submitted: Fred Preston


[Members][More Links][Back to Main Page][Projects]

Page Originated 11/21/08
Last updated 11/21/08
Web Master Fred Preston